Paris, 22 March 2016

Bristol-Myers Squibb and Gustave Roussy sign a strategic collaboration to accelerate research in immuno-oncology

Immuno-oncology is an innovative therapeutic approach aimed at harnessing the natural capabilities of the immune system to fight cancer by targeting the same pathways tumor cells use to evade recognition and destruction. Today, immuno-oncology is one of the most promising areas in cancer research.

Bristol-Myers Squibb and Gustave Roussy announced today the signature of an important scientific collaboration to advance immuno-oncology research. In joining forces, they endeavor to further explore the scientific and clinical understanding of the role of immunotherapy in treating cancer patients. The clinical evidence of the efficacy of immunotherapy to date supports further study of its potential as an option in treating advanced cancer diseases. And, this collaboration is only the start of this new chapter regarding investigational cancer treatments.

Complementing our vast internal R&D program with innovative collaborations with cutting-edge cancer centers such as Gustave Roussy is instrumental to our pioneering approach in immuno-oncology. The alliance that has now been formalized between Bristol-Myers Squibb and the Institute is part of the Immuno-Oncology “Global Expert Centers Initiative (GECI)”. Launched by Bristol-Myers Squibb in Europe, GECI has the objective of strengthening collaboration with the most innovative cancer treatment centers and thereby accelerating research. We are very honored that Gustave Roussy is now the first institute to join the GECI program,” said Fouad Namouni, MD, senior vice president, head of medical, Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Bristol-Myers Squibb is one of our important partners in deploying our Immunotherapy research program, which is a major priority for our institution. This new research approach, which has been used to study numerous types of different cancers, represents a true revolution for patients and is an undeniable pillar for development of future therapeutic strategies in oncology,” stated Professor Alexander Eggermont, General Director of Gustave Roussy.

The agreement concerns early access to innovative immunotherapy molecules developed by Bristol-Myers Squibb, in particular for phase I/II trials conducted in the Therapeutic Innovation and Early Trials Department (Département Innovation Thérapeutique et Essais Précoces, DITEP) at Gustave Roussy, as well as for phase II and III validation in different cancers. Gustave Roussy may also propose that Bristol-Myers Squibb support the trials through institutional promotion by contributing regimens or original patterns. The agreement also anticipates preclinical and translational studies, based on research programs by Gustave Roussy teams. A joint steering committee will ensure the advancement of projects.

Bristol-Myers Squibb and Gustave Roussy, pioneers in immuno-oncology research

Today, Gustave Roussy is a leading immuno-oncology research center in Europe and a pioneer in validating the efficacy of immunomodulator monoclonal antibodies.

Bristol-Myers Squibb has a vision for the future of cancer care that is focused on Immuno-Oncology, now considered a major treatment choice alongside surgery, radiation, chemotherapy and targeted therapies for certain types of cancer.

The company has a comprehensive clinical portfolio of investigational and approved Immuno-Oncology agents, many of which were discovered and developed by its scientists. The ongoing Immuno-Oncology clinical program is looking at broad patient populations, across multiple solid tumors and hematologic malignancies, and lines of therapy and histologies, with the intent of powering trials for overall survival and other important measures like durability of response. Bristol-Myers Squibb pioneered the research leading to the first regulatory approval for the combination of two Immuno-Oncology agents, and continues to study the role of combinations in cancer.

The company is also investigating other immune system pathways in the treatment of cancer including CTLA-4, CD-137, KIR, SLAMF7, PD-1, GITR, CSF1R, IDO, and LAG-3. These pathways may lead to potential new treatment options – in combination or monotherapy – to help patients fight different types of cancers.

Through this strategic partnership, Bristol-Myers Squibb and Gustave Roussy join forces to support scientific progress with the objective of significantly increasing the benefits for patients in terms of overall survival while improving their quality of life during their treatment.

Today, Gustave Roussy is a leading immuno-oncology research center in Europe and a pioneer in validating the efficacy of immunomodulator monoclonal antibodies.

PDF icon> Read the press release in PDF

Catégorie de la page:

Informations pratiques
Adresse

Gustave Roussy
114, rue Édouard-Vaillant
94805 Villejuif Cedex - France

Standard

Tel : +33 (0)1 42 11 42 11

Urgences

Gustave Roussy n'assure que les urgences des patients pris en charge à l'Institut.
Urgences uniquement : +33 (0)1 42 11 50 00

GUSTAVE ROUSSY
1er centre de lutte contre le cancer en Europe, 3 000 professionnels mobilisés

Paris, le 22 mars 2016

Bristol-Myers Squibb et Gustave Roussy concluent un partenariat stratégique pour accélérer la recherche en Immuno-Oncologie

À ce jour, l’Immuno-Oncologie est un des axes les plus prometteurs de la recherche en cancérologie. Une approche thérapeutique nouvelle qui vise à restaurer le fonctionnement du système immunitaire pour lui permettre de défendre l’organisme en reconnaissant et détruisant les cellules tumorales.

Bristol-Myers Squibb et Gustave Roussy annoncent aujourd’hui la signature d’un partenariat scientifique important pour l’avancée de la recherche en Immuno-Oncologie. Leur volonté, en s’associant, est d’aller plus loin dans la compréhension scientifique et clinique du rôle que peut jouer l’immunothérapie dans le traitement des patients atteints de cancer. Les preuves cliniques de l’efficacité de l’immunothérapie démontrent son extraordinaire potentiel dans le traitement des cancers à un stade avancé. Et ce n’est que le début de cette nouvelle ère thérapeutique.  

«Compléter notre vaste programme de R&D interne par le biais de coopérations innovantes avec des centres de lutte contre le cancer de pointe tels que Gustave Roussy est fondamental à notre approche de pionnier en matière d’Immuno-Oncologie. L’alliance qui se concrétise aujourd’hui entre Bristol-Myers Squibb et l’Institut s’inscrit dans le cadre du programme  "Immuno-Oncology Global Expert Centers Initiative (GECI)". Lancé par Bristol-Myers Squibb en Europe, il a pour but de renforcer la collaboration entre les centres de traitement du cancer les plus innovants et ainsi d’accélérer la recherche. Nous sommes très honorés que Gustave Roussy soit aujourd’hui le premier établissement à rejoindre le programme GECI», déclare Fouad Namouni, MD, Directeur Médical, Bristol-Myers Squibb.

«Bristol-Myers Squibb est un de nos partenaires importants dans le déploiement de notre programme d’Immunothérapie, une priorité majeure de notre institution. Cette nouvelle voie de traitement, dont l’efficacité est maintenant démontrée dans de nombreux types de cancers différents, constitue une vraie révolution pour la prise en charge des patients et un pilier incontournable des futures stratégies thérapeutiques en cancérologie», déclare le Professeur Alexander Eggermont, Directeur Général de Gustave Roussy.

L’accord de collaboration porte sur l’accès précoce aux molécules innovantes d’immunothérapie développées par Bristol-Myers Squibb, en particulier pour des essais de phase I/II conduits dans le Département Innovation Thérapeutique et Essais Précoces (DITEP) de Gustave Roussy, ainsi que sur leur validation en phase II et III dans diverses indications. Gustave Roussy pourra aussi proposer à Bristol-Myers Squibb de soutenir la mise en œuvre d’essais à promotion institutionnelle avec des combinaisons ou des schémas originaux. L’accord favorise également la mise en œuvre d’études précliniques et translationnelles sur la base des programmes de recherche des équipes de Gustave Roussy. Un comité de pilotage conjoint assurera l’avancée des projets.

Bristol-Myers Squibb et Gustave Roussy, pionniers dans la recherche en Immuno-Oncologie  

Gustave Roussy est aujourd’hui en Europe le chef de file de la recherche en Immuno-Oncologie et pionnier dans la validation de l’efficacité des anticorps monoclonaux immunomodulateurs.
Pour Bristol-Myers Squibb, l’Immuno-Oncologie est aujourd’hui considérée comme une approche thérapeutique essentielle aux côtés de la chirurgie, la radiothérapie, la chimiothérapie et des traitements ciblant certains types de cancer.

Chez Bristol-Myers Squibb, un portefeuille complet d’agents immuno-oncologiques est en phase expérimentale ou approuvé, dont bon nombre ont été découverts et développés par nos scientifiques. Le programme de développement clinique d’Immuno-Oncologie en cours chez Bristol-Myers Squibb concerne des populations de patients très variées, dans diverses tumeurs solides et hémopathies malignes, et diverses lignes de traitement et histologies ; l’objectif est de renforcer les données en termes de survie globale et d’autres données importantes telles que la durabilité de la réponse. Bristol-Myers Squibb a été parmi les premiers à mener la recherche qui a conduit à la première approbation réglementaire de l’association de deux agents immuno-oncologiques aux Etats-Unis, et continue à étudier le rôle des associations dans le traitement du cancer.

Bristol-Myers Squibb étudie également d’autres voies du système immunitaire dans le traitement du cancer, notamment CTLA-4, CD-137, KIR, SLAMF7, PD-1, GITR, CSF1R, IDO et LAG-3. Ces voies pourraient aboutir à de nouvelles options thérapeutiques potentielles, en association ou en monothérapie, pour aider les patients à lutter contre différents types de cancers.
Avec ce partenariat, Bristol-Myers Squibb et Gustave Roussy s’engagent pour faire progresser la science dans l’objectif d’accroître significativement le bénéfice et d’améliorer la qualité de vie des patients atteints de cancer.  

PDF icon> Lire le communiqué en PDF

Catégorie de la page: