Paris and Villejuif, France – March, the 2st 2016

Sanofi and Gustave Roussy strengthen their translational research collaboration in oncology

This agreement is aimed to promote personalized medicine and the development of new molecules for cancer patient

Sanofi and Gustave Roussy, the leading cancer centre in Europe, announced today that they will continue their clinical and scientific collaboration which began in 2012, strengthening their partnership in oncology research. The objective is to promote personalized medicine and collaborative projects in translational research and thus accelerate the development of new molecules and the evaluation of these molecules in cancer patients.

The agreement between Sanofi and Gustave Roussy has been renewed for a period of three years. It will reinforce the teams' joint experience in early therapeutic development and will enable to promote collaborations in the field of immuno-oncology and immunoconjugates (antibodies conjugated to a powerful toxic agent).
Sanofi will continue to make it possible for Gustave Roussy – and its DITEP (Département d’Innovation Thérapeutique et Essais Précoces – Department of Therapeutic Innovation and Early Trials) in particular – to participate in its phase I/II trials set up in Europe.

« We are pleased with the first four years of collaboration with Gustave Roussy. Together we have advanced the translational research for the benefit of our most promising programmes and above all, many patients have been able to benefit from innovative and better targeted molecules », said Marc Bonnefoi, Vice President R&D France, Sanofi.

To improve the evaluation of new molecules at an early stage of their development, the Sanofi and Gustave Roussy teams have particularly developed the translational segment as regards the MOSCATO (MOlecular Screening for CAncer Treatment Optimisation) biomedical research programme promoted by Gustave Roussy and carried out by the DITEP since 2011. The main objective is to better characterise the patient populations targeted in the development of molecules from Sanofi portfolio, and to identify and validate biomarkers enabling to support their development.
This collaboration should make it possible to accelerate the development of innovative molecules, better adapted to patients and their tumor characteristics and thus offer to clinicians new therapeutic solutions for the greatest benefit of patients.

 « Sanofi was an important partner in the MOSCATO-01 study. Being able to establish the molecular profiles of tumours in routine clinical practice makes it possible to direct patients towards the targeted therapies that are best suited, and potentially the most effective, for their situations. The analysis that we are currently conducting on over a thousand patients that benefited from this personalized medicine strategy is expected to confirm the relevance of such an approach to patient benefit », said Professor Jean-Charles Soria, Head of the DITEP at Gustave Roussy.

A second phase of the programme (MOSCATO-02 study) will be initiated in 2016, introducing, into patient molecular profiles, the characterisation of immunological biomarkers which may provide patients greater access to new immunotherapies in development.


About the personalized medicine in oncology

The personalized medicine is currently experiencing a significant expansion in oncology and is opening the pathway to new and promising perspectives for patients, with greater therapeutic efficacy in order to avoid useless or toxic treatments. It makes it possible to improve patient care based on the molecular characterisation of their tumours (genetic and biological characteristics). These criteria are now taken into account in the choice of treatment – a choice which is no longer made solely based on the type and stage of the cancer.

About the DITEP

The only facility of its kind in France, the DITEP (Département d’Innovation Thérapeutique et Essais Précoces – Department of Therapeutic Innovation and Early Trials) embodies, develops and promotes clinical research as an act of care, based on providing the greatest number of patients with access to therapeutic innovation and early trials. Founded in September 2013 and directed by Professor Jean-Charles Soria, this department is currently the most advanced phase I/II centre in Europe. An essential partner in early trials, this department makes it possible to integrate patient care into a transversal and multidisciplinary framework.
Entirely dedicated to early trials and molecular and immunological characterisation of tumours in patients with advanced metastatic cancer, the DITEP cared for more than 900 patients in 2015. 440 of these patients were included in an early trial in cancerology, and nearly 500 were included in a precision medicine programme making it possible to determine the best therapeutic options for each patient.

PDF icon> Read the press release in PDF

Catégorie de la page:

Informations pratiques
Adresse

Gustave Roussy
114, rue Édouard-Vaillant
94805 Villejuif Cedex - France

Standard

Tel : +33 (0)1 42 11 42 11

Urgences

Gustave Roussy n'assure que les urgences des patients pris en charge à l'Institut.
Urgences uniquement : +33 (0)1 42 11 50 00

GUSTAVE ROUSSY
1er centre de lutte contre le cancer en Europe, 3 000 professionnels mobilisés

Paris et Villejuif, France – Le 2 mars 2016

Sanofi et Gustave Roussy renforcent leur collaboration en recherche translationnelle en oncologie

Cet accord a pour objectif de favoriser la médecine personnalisée et le développement de nouvelles molécules pour les patients atteints de cancer.

Sanofi et Gustave Roussy, premier centre de lutte contre le cancer en Europe, annoncent aujourd’hui poursuivre leur collaboration clinique et scientifique engagée en 2012, en renforçant leur partenariat de recherche en oncologie. L’objectif est de favoriser la médecine personnalisée et les projets collaboratifs de recherche translationnelle et accélérer ainsi le développement de nouvelles molécules et leur évaluation chez les patients atteints de cancer.

L’accord entre Sanofi et Gustave Roussy est renouvelé pour une durée de trois ans. Celui-ci va renforcer l’expérience conjointe des équipes en matière de développement thérapeutique précoce et permettra de promouvoir les collaborations dans le domaine de l’immuno-oncologie et des immunoconjugés (anticorps conjugués à un agent toxique puissant).
Sanofi continuera à proposer à Gustave Roussy et plus particulièrement à son département Innovation Thérapeutique et Essais Précoces (DITEP), de participer à ses essais de phase I/II mis en place en Europe.

«Nous tirons un bilan positif des quatre premières années de collaboration avec Gustave Roussy. Ensemble, nous avons fait avancer la recherche translationnelle au bénéfice de certains de nos programmes les plus prometteurs et surtout de nombreux patients ont ainsi pu bénéficier de molécules innovantes mieux ciblées», a déclaré  Marc Bonnefoi, Vice-Président R&D France Sanofi.

Pour améliorer l’évaluation des molécules innovantes au stade précoce de leur développement, les équipes Sanofi et Gustave Roussy ont particulièrement développé le volet translationnel sur le programme de recherche biomédicale MOSCATO (MOlecular Screening for CAncer Treatment Optimization), promu par Gustave Roussy et conduit par le DITEP depuis 2011. L’objectif principal est de mieux caractériser les populations de patients ciblées dans le développement des molécules du portefeuille Sanofi, d’identifier et valider des biomarqueurs permettant d’accompagner leur développement.
Cette collaboration doit permettre d’accélérer le développement de molécules innovantes mieux adaptées aux caractéristiques des patients et de leur tumeur et ainsi offrir aux cliniciens de nouvelles solutions thérapeutiques pour le plus grand bénéfice des patients.

«Sanofi a été un partenaire important de l’étude MOSCATO-01. Pouvoir établir en routine clinique, le portrait moléculaire de tumeurs permet d’orienter les patients vers les thérapies ciblées les plus adaptées et potentiellement les plus efficaces. L’analyse que nous sommes en train de mener sur plus de mille patients ayant bénéficié de cette stratégie de médecine personnalisée, devrait confirmer la pertinence d’une telle approche pour le bénéfice des patients», a commenté le Pr Jean-Charles Soria, Chef du DITEP à Gustave Roussy.

Une seconde phase du programme (étude MOSCATO-02) sera mise en œuvre courant 2016 en introduisant dans les profils moléculaires des patients la caractérisation de biomarqueurs immunologiques, pouvant leur donner un accès plus large aux nouvelles immunothérapies en cours de développement.

A propos de la médecine personnalisée en oncologie

La médecine personnalisée connaît à l’heure actuelle un important essor en oncologie, et ouvre la voie à de nouvelles perspectives prometteuses pour les patients, pour une plus grande efficacité thérapeutique et afin d’éviter des traitements inutiles voir toxiques. Elle permet d’individualiser et d’améliorer la prise en charge des patients sur la base de la caractérisation moléculaire de leur tumeur : caractéristiques génétiques et biologiques. Ces critères sont aujourd’hui pris en compte dans le choix du traitement qui n’est plus décidé uniquement en fonction du type et du stade du cancer.

A propos du DITEP

Structure unique en France, le DITEP (Département d’Innovation Thérapeutique et Essais Précoces) incarne, développe et promeut une recherche clinique conçue comme un acte de soin et fondée sur l’accès au plus grand nombre de patients à l’innovation thérapeutique et aux essais précoces. Créé en septembre 2013 et dirigé par le Pr Jean-Charles Soria, ce département est actuellement le centre de phase I/II le plus développé en Europe. Partenaire incontournable des essais précoces, il permet d’inscrire la prise en charge du patient dans la transversalité et la pluridisciplinarité.
Totalement dédié à la réalisation d’essais précoces et à la caractérisation moléculaire et immunologique des tumeurs de patients porteurs de cancers avancés métastatiques, le DITEP a pris en charge en 2015 plus de 900 patients. 440 ont été inclus dans un essai précoce de cancérologie et près de 500 ont été inclus dans un programme de médecine de précision permettant de déterminer les meilleures options thérapeutiques pour chaque patient.

 

PDF icon> Lire le communiqué en PDF

Catégorie de la page: