Professor Fabrice Barlesi

Fabrice BarlesiAs a specialist in lung cancer, precision medicine and cancer immunology, Prof. Fabrice Barlesi is a major contributor to research in the field of novel oncological therapies. He was apppointed General Director of Gustave Roussy in January 2020.

Fabrice Barlesi is Professor of Medicine at the University of Aix-Marseille. He has been head of the Multidisciplinary Oncology and Innovative Therapies Department of the Nord Hospital in Marseille (Marseille Public Hospitals) and the Marseille Centre for Early Trials in Oncology (CLIP2) which were established by him. He holds a doctorate in Sciences and Management with methods of analysis of health care systems, together with an ESSEC (international business school) master’s degree in general hospital management.   

Professor Barlesi was also a co-founder of the Marseille Immunopôle French Immunology network, which aims to coordinate immunological expertise in the Aix-Marseille metropolitan area. In this context, he has organised PIONeeR (Investment in the future RHU 2017), the major international Hospital-University research project whose objective is to improve understanding of resistance to immunotherapy - anti-PD1(L1) – in lung cancer and help to prevent and overcome it. He was also vice-chair of the PACA (Provence, Alps and Côte d’Azur) Region Cancer Research Directorate.

Professor Barlesi is the author and co-author of some 300 articles in international journals and specialist publications. In 2018, the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO) and the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) awarded him the prestigious Heine H. Hansen prize. He appears in the 2019 world list of most influential researchers (Highly cited researchers, Web of Science Group).

Catégorie de la page:

Informations pratiques
Adresse

Gustave Roussy
114, rue Édouard-Vaillant
94805 Villejuif Cedex - France

Standard

Tel : +33 (0)1 42 11 42 11

Urgences

Gustave Roussy n'assure que les urgences des patients pris en charge à l'Institut.
Urgences uniquement : +33 (0)1 42 11 50 00

GUSTAVE ROUSSY
1er centre de lutte contre le cancer en Europe, 3 000 professionnels mobilisés

Professeur Fabrice Barlesi

Fabrice BarlesiSpécialiste du cancer du poumon, de la médecine de précision et de l'immunologie des cancers, le Pr Fabrice Barlesi est un des acteurs majeurs de la recherche sur les thérapies innovantes contre le cancer. Il a été nommé directeur médical de Gustave Roussy en janvier 2020.

Professeur de médecine à l'université d’Aix-Marseille, le Pr Barlesi a dirigé précedemment le service d'oncologie multidisciplinaire et innovations thérapeutiques de l’hôpital Nord à Marseille (AP-HM) ainsi que le centre d'essais précoces en cancérologie de Marseille (CLIP2) qu’il a créés. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat de sciences et gestion, méthodes d'analyse des systèmes de santé et d’un mastère en management général hospitalier de l’ESSEC.

Le Pr Barlesi a également co-fondé le cluster français de l’immunologie Marseille Immunopôle dont la mission est de rassembler les expertises en immunologie de la métropole d’Aix-Marseille. Dans ce cadre, il coordonne le grand projet international de recherche PIONeeR (Investissement d’avenir RHU 2017) qui vise à mieux comprendre, prévenir et surmonter les résistances à l’immunothérapie - anti-PD1(L1) - dans le cancer du poumon. Il a également été vice-président du canceropôle PACA.

Le Pr Barlesi est auteur et co-auteur de près de 300 publications parues dans des revues internationales ou des ouvrages spécialisés. En 2018, la Société européenne d’oncologie médicale (ESMO) et l’Association internationale pour l’étude du cancer du poumon (IASLC) lui ont décerné le prestigieux prix Heine H. Hansen. En 2019, Fabrice Barlesi figurait dans la liste des chercheurs les plus influents au monde (Highly cited researchers de Web of Science Group). 

Catégorie de la page: